Matthew Moran: Music & Musings
The Arrogant Sage Podcast
Audio Dispatch #001 - Songwriting the Pandemic - Take Your Cares Away
0:00
-12:51

Audio Dispatch #001 - Songwriting the Pandemic - Take Your Cares Away

How my pushy partner and the pandemic brought a pretty good song to life

This is my first audio dispatch. I give the backstory to how I wrote the pandemic inspired song, “Take Your Cares Away.”

An image of the lyrics for Take Your Cares Away
The pages from my notebook - April 9, 2022 - Take Your Cares Away

April 9th, 2020 - Los Angeles, CA

A heavy rain and the start of the pandemic lockdown had brought an odd quiet over Los Angeles.

Deb and I were in my room in the house I rented near downtown Los Angeles. We had the LED light turned to a subdued red hue.

Deb pushed my notebook and pen back to me and said, “Write it….”

Pushy and demanding. I like it!

In the red lit room, smoking some dope
My girl and I are visiting, she’s giving me hope
The city is silent, though she weeps and she moans
The sound of the rain ain’t all that’s keeping us home

Lyrics Here

Lyric Video: Take Your Cares Away

0 Comments
Matthew Moran: Music & Musings
The Arrogant Sage Podcast
The audio component to The Arrogant Sage substack.
Matthew Moran discusses songwriting, writing, creative expression, and other highly caffeinated musings.